Colorado Legislation Enforcement Memorial to honor Windsor police officer who died in line of obligation – Greeley Tribune

The annual Colorado Law Enforcement Memorial ceremony will honor a Windsor police officer who died in the line of duty last year.

Ty Powell with the Windsor Police Department died Oct. 13 from complications after contracting COVID-19 in the line of duty, according to an Officer Down Memorial Page.

Powell began his time with the Windsor Police Department in 2002 as a police officer with a specialized role as a driving instructor, according to Windsor Police Commander Aaron Lopez. Prior to his time in Windsor, he served with the Mesa County Sheriff’s Office for one year and the Jackson County Sheriff’s Office for one year.

“Everybody who knew him loved him,” Lopez said. “He was really a big teddy bear guy. He had a good sense of humor about him.”

Every year, Colorado’s law enforcement community gathers to show respect for officers who died in the line of duty at the Colorado Law Enforcement Memorial ceremony.

Along with Powell, 16 names will be added to the memorial, at 10 am Friday in Golden. The names of nine Colorado law enforcement officers who died in the line of duty in 2021 and eight historical Colorado line-of-duty deaths will be formally added to the state’s memorial, according to a news release from the Colorado State Patrol.

The Colorado Law Enforcement Memorial has 342 officers’ names engraved.

A full list of the 17 names to be added to the memorial:

  • Ty Powell: Windsor Police Department, Oct. 13, 2021
  • Eric Talley: Boulder Police Department, March 22, 2021
  • James Herrera: Denver Sheriff’s Department, May 16, 2021
  • Daniel Trujillo: Denver Sheriff’s Department, May 26, 2021
  • Gordan Beesley: Arvada Police Department, June 21, 2021
  • Eric Scherr: Aurora Police Department, Aug. 30, 2021
  • Clay Livingston: Elbert County Sheriff’s Office, Dec. 3, 2021
  • Joseph Pollack: Douglas County Sheriff’s Office, Dec. 9, 2021
  • Wayne Weyler: Mesa County Sheriff’s Office, Dec. 10, 2021
  • James Richey: Denver Marshal’s Office, Feb. 4, 1862
  • Charles Wilcox: Arapahoe County Sheriff’s Office, Sep. 19, 1899
  • Rafael Pena: Antonito Marshal’s Office, Aug. 7, 1908.
  • Andrew Sandberg: Denver Police Department, Oct. 31, 1911
  • Frank Potesio: Denver Police Department, Nov. 22, 1918
  • Peter Walsh: Denver Police Department, Nov. 23, 1918
  • Eduardo Dominguez: Conejos County Sheriff’s Office, April 10, 1940
  • Robert Sandoval: Denver Police Department, Oct. 29, 2020

Powell is survived by his wife and five children, the memorial page said.

“He’s going to be genuinely missed,” Lopez said.

Comments are closed.