5 Windsor-Essex communities inaugurate new councils Tuesday

The municipal election is history, and now those who will begin to take office.

The City of Windsor and four other municipalities in the region will hold inaugural council meetings Tuesday. New and re-elected mayors will deliver their inaugural addresses, and new councilors will take their oaths of office.

Voters made their choices on October 24, and the results were certified soon after.


Mayor Drew Dilkens will give his vision for the next four years Tuesday night at the Capitol Theater in downtown Windsor. Doors open at 6:30 pm with the meeting beginning at 7 pm The public is invited to attend.

Dilkens was re-elected for a third four-year term. Seven incumbent members of City Council will renew their oaths of office but there will be three newcomers. Renaldo Agostino will take over Ward 3’s seat, succeeding Rino Bortolin. Mark McKenzie will be sworn in for Ward 4, succeeding Chris Holt, and Angelo Marignani will take Ward 7.

A program by the Windsor Symphony Youth Orchestra, an Indigenous welcome, and a poetry reading by Marty Gervais are scheduled as part of the program.


The Town of Kingsville will swear in its new mayor and council Tuesday night at 6 pm at the Grovedale Arts and Culture Center on Park Street.

There will be a new mayor for the first time in 19 years, with Dennis Rogers succeeding the departed Nelson Santos. Kimberly DeYong moves from a councillor’s position to deputy mayor, succeeding Gord Queen.

At-large councilors Tony Gaffan, Thomas Neufeld, and Larry Patterson will begin their new terms of office. Council newcomers Debby Jarvis-Chausse and Sheri Lowrie will take their seats.

Rogers will give his inaugural address after each councilor is sworn in.


The Municipality of Lakeshore’s inaugural council meeting is set to begin at 7 p.m. at the Atlas Tube Recreation Center’s Renaud Room.

Tracey Bailey will succeed Tom Bain as mayor, an office Bain had held since 2006. Previous Ward 5 Councilor Kirk Walstedt will move into Bailey’s place as deputy mayor.

Incumbent councilors John Kerr and Kelsey Santarossa will begin their next terms of office. There will be four new faces on the municipality’s council. Ryan McNamara will assume Ward 1’s seat, with Paddy Byrne taking over Ward 2. In Ward 5, Ian Rushton will be Walstedt’s successor, and Larissa Vogler will move into the Ward 6 seat.


The new council for the Municipality of Leamington will meet at 6 pm for its inaugural meeting, in council chambers.

Hilda MacDonald will receive the mayor’s chain for the second time and will deliver her vision for Leamington’s next four years. Larry Verbeke will begin another term as deputy mayor.

The at-large council will have one newcomer, with Anthony Abraham joining the council’s table. Incumbents Bill Dunn, Paul Tiessen, and Tim Wilkinson will begin new terms, and Heather Latam, who was appointed after Trevor Jones was elected Chatham-Kent-Leamington MPP, begins a term in their own right.


The first meeting of the new term in Tecumseh will take place at 7 p.m. at the Ciociaro Club in Oldcastle.

Mayor Gary McNamara and Deputy Mayor Joe Bachetti were both acclaimed to their offices in the election. McNamara has held the mayor’s chain since 2003, making him the longest-serving active mayor in Windsor-Essex.

Two councillors will take the oath for the first time. Alicia Higgison is the new Ward 1 councillor, succeeding Andrew Dowie. Canadian Forces veteran James Dorner assumes the Ward 2 seat left open by the departing Bill Altenhof.

Incumbents Rick Tonial, Brian Houston and Tania Jobin will be reinaugurated.

The Town of Essex will hold its inaugural council meeting on November 21, with LaSalle following suit the following evening. Amherstburg will hold its meeting on November 28. All three will involve new mayors.

Comments are closed.